PDA

View Full Version : 4 Month New Hampshire wilderness living?

skitheeast8
12-27-2013, 11:25 PM
Hello all!
I am a college student in New Hampshire.
This summer (May - August) I am going to live in the woods on family land (200 acres)
I have permission to do so.
I know it is several months ahead of time but I want to plan ahead.
I was looking into Canvas wall tents to live in for the 4 months but they seem to be way out of my budget (Most of them costing well over $500).
I already have a small stove that was passed down to me with a 5'' stovepipe which will be perfect for cold nights.
Should I make my own canvas tent? Or does anyone know of any other good shelter ideas that will last 4 months at least?
This structure can not be permanent as I will be taking it down when I go back to school in august.
I have already constructed a rainwater collection system with a water pump that goes into a propane water heater.
I also have a 2000kw generator.
I just need to figure out the shelter situation!
I don't want to spend over $500 on a tent.
I am looking for a tent that I can fit my queen size bed in but still have living space.
Help me out guys thanks

SARKY
12-28-2013, 01:16 AM
Check out costco or sportsman's guide for a cheaper alternative, granted it won't be canvas.

1stimestar
12-28-2013, 01:26 AM
I'd say dump the queen size bed and give yourself more living space! Try ebay for wall tents.

1stimestar
12-28-2013, 01:41 AM
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Boy-Scout-Wall-Tent-Canvas-/201009701059?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2ecd1ca0c3

pete lynch
12-28-2013, 06:51 AM
Build a teepee.
Ditch the queen-sized bed and get a cot or build your own bed.
Who drags a q-sized bed out in the wilderness?

hunter63
12-28-2013, 10:20 AM
Tipi, is good idea, but remember good canvas is expensive, weather you build a tent or buy one.

Look into MilSup tents.....I thinking GP Medium.....look at local surplus stores.
just an example;

http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/390508764429?lpid=82