PDA

View Full Version : Can you boil water with a campfire?

tunick001
04-03-2008, 01:20 PM
I was just wondering, I've never tried it before. Lets say you're lost in the forest and need to boil water for drinking. You have no stove or fuel to do it. You start a fire with a bow-drill. Will that work?

Rick
04-03-2008, 01:26 PM
Sure it will. You can boil water with any fire as long as it will burn long enough to bring the water up to temperature. You need something to boil the water in, of course. You can use a metal cup, a foil cup, a plastic bottle, or heat rocks to place in just about any type of container that will hold the water.

Alpine_Sapper
04-03-2008, 01:27 PM
http://www.expertvillage.com/video/5381_campfire-boiling-water.htm

vagrant
04-03-2008, 03:17 PM
What I do is build fire with lots of finger width kindling to build up a quick hot fire. I like the rock method by placing several equally high rocks in the center that my pot can sit on. Make sure you don't use wet rocks or those by creek beds because these can and do explode from moisture content. When I camp I keep a large supply of kindling by the fire ring or pit and in the morning get the fire going with alot of small fuel, placing the rocks in the center. Usually within a half hour I have a fire hot enough to boil water rather quickly. Within an hour I have a pot of coffee made over a hot fire instead of wasting my propane or camp stove fuel.
If you need to boil water for survival purposes and don't have anything to boil in, use rocks with depressions in it or use aluminum foil for the holder(I have some folded in my emergency kit) making sure you don't have it directly over the fire so it doesn't scorch or burn thru. You can also place hot rocks in your water jug but I never tried this and am not sure if the water gets hot enough to purify it. Hope this helps :)

Alpine_Sapper
04-03-2008, 03:19 PM
You can also place hot rocks in your water jug