PDA

View Full Version : when is the economy going to turn around

randyt
05-26-2013, 12:22 PM
I've been hanging on since 2007 which was one of my better years. Every year things get a little worse. My retirement is nearly gone, it was used to keep the business doors open. I'm down to two employees and I think I my lay them off soon. The phone is very quiet, I call the shop sometimes just to make sure it's not broken. Any thoughts?

Ken
05-26-2013, 01:39 PM
Yep. Get ready for a depression if Obamacare actually goes into effect.

My business is steady, but accounts receivable are climbing. Clients that paid 100% up front are now on payment plans. That includes business clients that always had cash readily available.

Lot's of people and businesses that appear financially solid to the world are operating week-to-week.

I live in a bedroom community with little industrial or commercial development. We always had comparatively low unemployment rates. Today, it's near 10%. The small city next to us reports an unemployment rate of over 15%. In reality, their rate is over 25%.

State and local taxes are skyrocketing. Just the local property taxes alone are up some 30+% over two years ago.

I know some of you will disagree, but I don't see anything good happening for at least 4 years, depending on who we elect to go to Washington.

randyt
05-26-2013, 02:16 PM
I've been saying that in 25 years these times we're going through are going to be called the second great depression. I operate in a bedroom community too. It went from 1000 residents to 650. Most of my business is service, with a smattering of commercial and residential new construction. There are lots of lakes around and the weekenders are part of our business as well. We have a 18 percent unemployment rate. I can do ok working alone, maybe even make more money. I'm getting older and crawling around under houses and through attics just doesn't seem as fun as it once did.