PDA

View Full Version : Daughter's *FIRST* fish!

ElevenBravo
04-18-2013, 09:30 PM
http://elevenbravo.net/assortedimages/BeccasFirstFish-18APR13-small.jpg

After months of jigs and crank baits..... I switch her over to drop shot with a night crawler and Bouyaaa!

This was caught on a $10 combo from Wally.

This is stocked water, Im sure its a trout.... just dont know what kind. Your input?? (Im still a rookie)

I dont know who was more proud, her or me!

Glad she finally got her first fish, she was all grins for several hours after that!

EB

Highhawk1948
04-18-2013, 09:44 PM
That's great. It probably put up a pretty good fight. I don't think that is a trout though. Maybe a sucker or carp. Keep it up!!

ElevenBravo
04-18-2013, 09:54 PM
Thanks Hawk... Yeah, I couldnt figure out why it kinda looked like a trout, but didnt have the classic spots.

I Googled sucker fish and yes, it has the same markings and mouth that define it as sucker.

Having not caught many fish at all, it is difficult for me to know... I am self taught with limited experience.

Oh well, she caught a FISH, and she will be much more ready to go back next time!

EB

jarhead
04-18-2013, 10:44 PM
Here in southern Illinois that is called a carp, we always caught them on bank lines. the old timers at the cabin knew how to cook them and that was good eating.

Ken
04-18-2013, 10:47 PM
Your input??

Nice work! :clap: My input? Baste it with lemon butter, sprinkle some slivered almonds on top, and introduce it to your grill.

Winnie
04-19-2013, 03:48 AM
That's great! It's a Common Carp. Over here we fish them with canned sweetcorn, Spam, Worms and bread crust.
Ignore Ken, the only suitable thing to do with Carp is release them or put them on the compost heap. They're full of bones and taste awful muddy.
Hope she continues to enjoy her fishing.

pete lynch
04-19-2013, 05:02 AM