PDA

View Full Version : Why did you become a Survivalist?

BraggSurvivor
03-22-2008, 12:07 AM
When I was 10 years old, the television series Grizzly Adams came on the set. I was an instant fan and swore that one day I would live like that. (other than the no love life thing). I wanted a place to call my own, living in harmony with nature, with a wife seeking the same. I graduated high school early in 1984 and within a month I started my first business selling and installing chain link fences. I saved every penny earned and purchased a parcel of land in Alberta in 1986 and two years after that I expanded my business in land development and project management around the city of Calgary.

I met a beautiful gal at a farmers market (she looked so freakin hot selling organic garlic and onions) and we married 8 months later. We bought an old school bus and drove it to a small clearing on my land, parked it, installed a wood stove and away we went. Life couldnt have been better then. We felt like we were the only ones in the world.

As our dreams unfolded our first child was born, the prepping for the future came into play. I observed my friends in huge debt, marriages on the rocks or divorced, no savings and no immediate happy future. The lights came on and I then realized I had the means and blessings to obtain a more self-sufficient lifestyle. (For me that meant no mortgage or car payments and living on a piece of land large enough to support the family with grown and raised food.) I changed my lifestyle immediately and within five years my land was paid off, built my new house cash as we could afford it and had my wife at home raising our kids. Prepping started with just a winters supply and has since turned into a bit of an obsession, and I admit it. Everything I do in business, homelife, child rearing, friends, extended family revolves around being self sufficient.