PDA

View Full Version : Winter foraging

payne
01-05-2013, 03:33 PM
What kind of plants/barks/mushrooms are still left to be foraged once snow has fallen?

A recent discussion made me think about Chaga mushrooms. What else? Possibly Turkey Tails mushrooms? Or really just any edible mushroom that grows on trees.
I read and heard from some natives that barks can be used for tonic teas and such as well.

If you have any specific information that would relate to my current location (Quebec), feel free to share!

BENESSE
01-05-2013, 06:08 PM
Don't forget to make pine needle tea.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IrSqva1Y9Bg

hunter63
01-05-2013, 06:23 PM
Pretty slim pickings in the deep dark winter.
Pine needle tea is good, .....rose hips if you have a lot of wild rose around, kinda bitter but does make a great tea as well.

gryffynklm
01-05-2013, 07:28 PM
Tree or vine fruit dried on the branch. Like hunter said. Slim Pickens.

mountainmark
01-05-2013, 08:22 PM
I have little experience with cambium. But the "inner bark" of white pine, hemlock, tamarac, birches, maple, aspen, and spruce as well as some others are edible (according to several guides). If you are good at IDing edible root plants by their dead stocks or know where to dig and the frost hasn't gone too deep, you could dig up tubers like Jerusalem artichoke. If the water hasn't frozen yet you could maybe get some arrowhead tubers as well. (make sure you have a warm fire nearby!) Bienials such as burdock and thistle are a bit tougher because by the time they have sent up a flowering spike the roots are no longer good by winter. They may however give you a good idea of where to uncover the snow and find their first year rosettes. As far as mushrooms go, I have found oyster mushrooms in every month but February provided there is a little warm spell. (granted I am a little south of you in NH) I once (after observing the deer) decided to try my hand at preparing the birch polypore (persistant through winter). Don't b