PDA

View Full Version : smallest bow for small game?...

CreekFisher
12-11-2012, 09:26 PM
sounds weird to ask but....

My girlfriend wants to take up archery, and i thought about buying her a little beginner setup ... she played with one and was struggling with the 25lb draw weight, so i found one with 18-23lb draw weight. SO would i be able to steal it and hunt any rabbit with it? lol (everything has to have multiple purposes in my house, so her target "toy" could maybe be my weekend hunting "toy")

any ideas/help?

crashdive123
12-11-2012, 09:41 PM
A lot (most?) states list the minimum draw weight for hunting.

CreekFisher
12-11-2012, 10:11 PM
Really!? i did not know that... i am a newbie lol i will check into that. thanks Crash! maybe i can just buy that for her now and work her up to a bigger bow later. off to google!

CreekFisher
12-11-2012, 11:19 PM
A little research and it turns out my state doesn't have a minimum draw weight for small game. So I might be able to sneak a bow out later this winter lol

gryffynklm
12-12-2012, 04:01 AM
Check your state for appropreate hunting season regulations and licence requirements

intothenew
12-12-2012, 09:24 AM
Somebody always has to come along and complicate things, but a finely tuned bow is a thing of beauty and great satisfaction. There is little chance that one bow will suit both of you.

To only concentrate on the bow, to hunt with especially, is short sighted. You must concern yourself with the business end as well. Assuming you are correct on no draw weight threshold, is there a definition on broadhead style or weight?
Even if not, I would recommend a robust, economical, fixed, three blade head for small game. LINKY (http://www.3riversarchery.com/del-ma+penetrator+lite+3-blade+glue-on+broadheads_i4952_baseitem.html) Something of that style will allow you to field sharpen also.

Getting a properly tuned arrow with a relatively heavy broadhead, and at those low draw weights, will be hard to do.