PDA

View Full Version : Pack Animals and Equipment

pgvoutdoors
12-01-2012, 01:07 AM
Here's a topic our friends from the western part of the U.S., or possibly overseas, might be able to help with; Pack Animals. Looking for some input from people that have experience in using horses and mules as pack animals. I have little experience with these animals as they are not used much in the eastern part of the U.S. I'm looking for information on the following subjects:

What breeds are best for carrying supplies?

How hard is it to train them?

Do you need to start training them when their young?

What equipment is required and where can it be purchased?

What kind of terrain do you need to avoid?

What are some of the problems with using them?

Any other information would be helpful, THANKS!

wareagle69
12-01-2012, 12:17 PM
well it again all depends..
we used mules in the grand canyon very sure footed critters, right now i use my standard bred for hauling logs. my love is for quarter horses, they are the best for me, but ask any horse enthusisast and you will get a dozen different answers
As for traing a horse, well i am retraining the mare STB cuz she is used to pulling a cart for ahrness racing (why she hauls logs good) but the gait for riding is a lateral 2 beat gait instead of a diagonal two beat gait, great for running and pulling not so great for trying to sit a seat on that. let me shplain in a trot a two beat lateral pattern is left front and right hind hoof hitting at the same time, in sync (natural) instead in a pacing trot his left front and left hind touch down together.
As for you i would say buy a trained horse then the both of you get trained to work together, other wise you will just confuse him and frusterate the both of you, a horse is a willing and eager to please animal (most days).
good luck

pete lynch
12-01-2012, 01:39 PM
Have you re-trained a trotter to pace before? If so, rep on the way.