PDA

View Full Version : Coleman Dual fuel lantern need help

Traina26
08-14-2012, 05:40 PM
Hi guys I recently found an older colman dual fuel two mantel lantern in my basement from the 90's I've never used a gas lantern before so this might sound stupid but when I lit it today I noticed that one mantel was burning significantly brighter then the other. Whats causing this? Is it because the lantern's internals are a little clogged or do you think I might have to replace the mantels or something? Sorry if this is a stupid question I've never used a gas lantern before and don't know how they work and I wanna take it on my camping trip this weekend. Thanks

Rick
08-14-2012, 06:00 PM
It's not a stupid question at all. The long tube that comes up from that tank is called the burner assembly. It has a round chamber at the top and two tubes point down out of the chamber and one mantle connects to each down tube. Spiders just love to crawl inside those things and build webs. They will either completely block or partially block one or both down tubes of the burner assembly. Just take a piece of flexible wire and run up inside the tube and spin it around and pull it back out. If web comes out, congratulations, you've probably fixed it. If no web comes out then it may be up in the chamber and partially blocking the one tube. It's also possible that a mud dauber has built inside of it. The burner assembly is pretty easy to remove and re-install.

Here's a diagram for you. There are some minute differences between models but the basic components are the same. The burner assembly is held on by a nut and clip. Loosen the nut, slide out the clip and the burner assembly comes right out. Items 11 is a heat shield. Yours may or may not have one.

http://i348.photobucket.com/albums/q348/safe_zone/lanterndiagram.jpg