PDA

View Full Version : Tractor guys, brush hog question.

hunter63
06-04-2012, 08:20 PM
Been mowing last couple of days,.....need to deal with a steep bank in front of the cabin.

Welder guy in town, suggested replacing the top link on the 3-point hitch with a chain....would allow it to tilt up when backing up the bank to mow.

Saves bending bracing and breaking stuff........got to say worked pretty well...but need to set my bogey wheel up higher as it was kinda scalping the bank.

Gonna leave it on for a while and see if there are any more problems

Anyone else heard of this?

The set up w/chain:
http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y139/hunter63/DSCF1088.jpg

karatediver
06-05-2012, 12:54 PM
I sell them for a living and never heard about anyone doing this before. I would think it would be fine as long as it's not bouncing around and is still stable. With PTO driven impliments I do worry when you change part of the support system if something goes wrong in the gear box suddenly your whole mower rips off and starts spinning but that's not very likely to happen. If it works for you, is safe and stable, then it sounds like it fixed your problem. But keep in mind that three supports in a triangle configuration is stronger and more stable which is why it is designed that way.

COWBOYSURVIVAL
06-05-2012, 05:58 PM
I have seen and used 'em rigged with a chain. Worked fine for me, if your hawging some thick stuff you may want the top link to keep the deck from riding up other than that it works fine.

karatediver
06-05-2012, 06:59 PM
If it rode up to much say if you hit a large uneven area or bump that you weren't expecting it could put too much stress on the PTO shaft causing premature failure in the yoke, your gear box, or the PTO shaft itself. They are meant to articulate a little but too much can cause a premature failure.

hunter63
06-05-2012, 07:59 PM