PDA

View Full Version : Check out my new toy!

Phaedrus
03-08-2012, 03:35 AM
WOOT! After researching and taking notes for six months I finally pulled the trigger on a new vacuum sealer. And NOOOOOO, it ain't no foodsaver! As you all probably know I'm a chef by trade and an all-around kitchen geek. Clamp style sealers are very inexpensive and do a good job on many things but don't work so well to seal liquids. And since I do a lot of sous vide cooking I like to be able to cook in a liquid. This requires a chamber vacuum sealer.

Enter the VacMaster VP215! It's a chamber vac with a rotary oil pump. It pulls almost 30" of vacuum! Here's a few pics!

http://img688.imageshack.us/img688/7572/vacmastervp215.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/688/vacmastervp215.jpg/)

http://img846.imageshack.us/img846/6783/vacmastervp2152.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/846/vacmastervp2152.jpg/)

Here's one of the main reasons I bought it over other similar machines: The ability to seal retort pouches!

http://img535.imageshack.us/img535/5420/vacmastervp2153retort.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/535/vacmastervp2153retort.jpg/)

You may think you don't know what a "retort pouch" is, but you may have one in your pantry right now. They're the pouches you buy your tuna in. They were developed for the military for MREs.

With this machine I can now easily seal liquids like chili, marinara sauce, gravy, soup, etc. And the retort pouches will let me can stuff in "flexible cans" that are just like a Ball Jar but not breakable.

Now, that might be interesting to you here's the REAL DEAL reason to have this for survival stuff:

http://img802.imageshack.us/img802/4859/vacmastervp2154retort.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/802/vacmastervp2154retort.jpg/)

http://img861.imageshack.us/img861/3508/vacmastervp2155retort.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/861/vacmastervp2155retort.jpg/)