PDA

View Full Version : Just A Suggestion.

Doyle
11-29-2011, 10:18 AM
I have been involved with multiple forums, for photoshop and web design, also compsci for multiple language help. I have been an administrator on an invision power board, which was a lot easier to customize and edit than vBulletin(In my opinion) Anyways, I find that it can be hard navigating and searching for articles among the forum. There are mods(add-ons) such as vBWiki that add a wikipedia kind database to the forums which users can contribute, and even add wiki moderators to edit and review articles, as not everything everyone posts is accurate,but that can be just for informative articles, instead of discussions.

It's just an idea, for the site to grow, you have to be innovative, get things that other sites don't have that will make it interesting for users to come and stay. There are lots of mods, that are simple and can be so essential to a site like this, photogallery, vbWiki

Anyways a vBWiki I have seen work in the past is
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=136242

Rick
11-29-2011, 11:50 AM
Your posts were moderated because of the links. I deleted one since it was a duplicate of this one. You couldn't see them because they were waiting to be moderated.

The problem with hacks, as you know, is they must be manually reapplied each time a new release comes out. If you are loaded with hacks then it becomes an administrative nightmare to forward apply each one and ensure you've capture all of them and captured them correctly IF they even function with the new release of software.

A form of wiki is something we've discussed in the past. If/when Chris finds one he's satisfied with it might be something he will add. As to being innovative, hang around and you'll find out this site has been pretty innovative over the years.

natertot
11-29-2011, 11:55 AM