PDA

View Full Version : Packaged goods , buckets ,etc?

SemperFi
09-03-2011, 09:34 AM
I am totally new to this although I did for years keep several cases of MREs handy , but MRE's are expensive and bulky and generally for "on the go" , I see bulk foods in large plastic buckets and other containers now, listed with shelf lives of over 25 years , I assume this means (before the seal is broke) , after the seal is broke what kind of shelf life is left?

How good is this food ? Does it have any flavor or taste ? I mean living in the trenches eating beef roganoff with no flavor doesnt sound to appealling (I guess I will be alive though?)

I just want to know what this stuff tastes like , I dont want to buy a big jug of it to taste it ,then realize its nasty and the shelf life went from 25 years , 2 months!

Can some of you wiser folks give me a lesson?

crashdive123
09-03-2011, 12:10 PM
Some of it is very good. Some not so much. There are several places that will provide smaller samples (some are even free except for shipping). I tried some a while back and there was Tortilla Soup as one of the items they sent. I thought it tasted great, but my wife didn't care for it. Of course she has never eaten balut, kimchee or grubs from a sidewalk vender in Korea either. Anyway - make sure it is something you will eat. The shelf life after opening depends on how it is packaged. If the #10 can is opened then generally you need to use it - I'd say within a month. Some cans (Mountain House Blueberry Cheesecake) is divided into packets on the inside of the can. The open packet should be used, but the unopened packets will keep.

Rick
09-03-2011, 05:51 PM
And, like the MRE's, shelf life is dependent to a large degree on what temperature it is stored in. That 25 years shelf life at 65°F drops to 20 years at 70°F and so on. Check the package it should tell you what temps it needs to be stored at.