PDA

View Full Version : My Shortgun pump action fail to extract empty shell after first shot

Bunduki
05-30-2011, 04:12 AM
My shortgun pump action is not extracting the empty shell after firing the first round.
I have experienced this problem for long time and now I have given up.

Can some one with such experience help me on how to go about? My short gun make is Ultra 87. I will be thankful for you support

crashdive123
05-30-2011, 06:46 AM
I'm no expert, but it could be one of several things - here are a few that come to mind. Dirt. Try giving your weapon a thorough cleaning. Worn extractor or spring. May need tooling or replacement. Also try a different ammunition.

Bunduki
05-30-2011, 08:17 AM
I'm no expert, but it could be one of several things - here are a few that come to mind. Dirt. Try giving your weapon a thorough cleaning. Worn extractor or spring. May need tooling or replacement. Also try a different ammunition.

Thank for your advice I will try this one

LowKey
05-30-2011, 10:12 AM
Definitely try a different brand of shell. My pump won't cycle the cheap Rio shells at all. Loves Remington and Winchester though. So much for trying to save a couple bucks.
Also make very sure you are using the right length shell.

hunter63
05-30-2011, 11:46 AM
I would guess you have dirt in or around the spring on the exrtactor....of a broken spring.
http://www.centuryarms.com/manuals/pdf_flipbook/ultra%2087%20shotgun/files/ultra%2087%20shotgun.pdf

My next step would be to take it to a quilified gunsmith.
Who makes this?.....Looks like a Mossberg, Maybe a knock off?

glockcop
06-21-2011, 03:31 PM