PDA

View Full Version : Dutch Oven

RangerXanatos
05-16-2011, 04:10 PM
I was at Acedmy Sports last week and came across this 12" Dutch Oven with legs and lip for $30. Has anyone had any experience with this brand?

http://www.academy.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Product_10151_10051_27868_-1?ICID=CRT:0269-40251-0002

crashdive123
05-16-2011, 04:13 PM
I have no experience with that brand. I have heard quite a bit of negative feedback on some of the off brands of dutch ovens (breaking and cracking), but don't know if that is one.

hunter63
05-16-2011, 04:24 PM
Price looks really right....can't say how the quality would be.
People used to talk about the "Lodge" brand 20 years ago, and they seem to be going strong.

gryffynklm
05-16-2011, 05:50 PM
I have three unmarked Dutch ovens that looks the same is different sizes. I have been using them for five years with no problem.

shiftyer1
05-16-2011, 10:25 PM
I don't know what lodge dutch ovens are going for nowadays but I KNOW they are quality. If your looking at other brands, often you can find a set with dutch oven, fry pans, griddle and i'm not sure what else for around 60-70. I do have some off brand cast iron and the grain? is alot more course. It takes longer and more effort to get them seasoned right.

PreppingToSurvive
05-17-2011, 07:19 AM
Lodge seems to be the standard by which most other brands are measured. And with good reason, they are great items.

I've had some good luck with inexpensive, off-brand skillets. I was concerned about seasoning them well, but they've worked out well. In fact, one has been every bit as good if not better than its Lodge counterpart.

ravenscar
05-17-2011, 08:08 AM
hmm, cast iron cookware..... i would have to hide that, dont need to walk into a $30 dutch oven do I?

any shoping tips?

scottmphoto
05-17-2011, 01:57 PM