PDA

View Full Version : Difference between a Thread Vs Blog ???

OhioGrizzLapp
03-10-2011, 09:19 AM
Could someone please explain in simple terms (total tech NOob here) the difference between a Forum Thread and a Blog??

Why post the same subject to both?

What are the advantages and disadvantages between the two?

crashdive123
03-10-2011, 09:22 AM
A thread is nothing more than a topic started on the forum pages where a person can share their thoughts, information and experiences. Here's an example. http://www.wilderness-survival.net/forums/showthread.php?15492-Difference-between-a-Thread-Vs-Blog&p=285402 Blogs are where a person can share their thoughts, information and experiences. The big difference IMO is that a thread is for discussion and information, whereas a blog (as used here) is for information without discussion.

Justin Case
03-10-2011, 09:40 AM
Blogs are harder to find ;)

OhioGrizzLapp
03-10-2011, 10:42 AM
Ok got it, although people can comment on a blog, it is not a discussion.

kyratshooter
03-10-2011, 06:06 PM
"Back in the day" there were dozens of survival forums, some good, but many were private deals with less than a half dozen real contributers. New contributers were discouraged and if you disagreed with the "host" you were immidiately banned.

They became repititous posts of "I love Moras", "I love Mosin Nagants" and "I love MREs" because if you disagreed with anything you were gone and you were not allowed to talk about a topic the host did not want on his board.

Most of those forums have turned into blog pages where one guy can spout off with no reguard for accuracy of information and no reguard for feedback, postitive or negitive.

If you google "survival forums" you will get this board and less than a dozen others, most are poor quality and simplistic. If you google "survival blogs" you will get thousands of hits.

OhioGrizzLapp
03-10-2011, 06:36 PM