PDA

View Full Version : Dehydrating Question.

crashdive123
01-07-2011, 04:54 PM
I'm still very new to dehydrating, and I'm still using my $1 yard sale Magic Chef. Since I've had a little time om my hands I've been using it more lately. I've noticed that in addition to the trays needing to be rotated, things on the outer edges of the trays dry more quickly. My question is - can you leave things on there too long?

Winnie
01-07-2011, 05:43 PM
I have exactly the same problem with my cheapie dehydrator too, Crash and I also wondered about overdrying. Although everything I've dehydrated(apart from some minced turkey thigh) seems to have turned out fine and rehydrates OK. I'm not sure how to tell if something is overdried as I've nothing to compare it to. I shall look forward to any responses with interest.

Rick
01-07-2011, 05:57 PM
Crash - I honestly don't know. I don't think so but I have nothing to back it up. The only precaution about fast drying is that the surface can get hard before the inside is dry. You wind up trapping moisture in the food. Other than that, I'm not aware that you can dehydrate food too long.

crashdive123
01-07-2011, 06:01 PM
On this cheapo dehydrator the only way to control temp is to open or close the vent on top. I've always left the vent open (lower temps) to avoid the situation you described. I guess I'll keep doing what I've been doing which is to remove the food from the outer edges as it dries and push the rest outward.

Mertell
01-07-2011, 06:32 PM
Crash,
I am with Rick. I don't think it is possible to over dry anything.

My most common item is frozen mixed vegetables that I use for camping/backpacking.

I use the dehydrator all day, then finish them off in a low oven. I want them DRY-DRY-DRY.

I store them in tightly screwed-on glass jars: must have a rubber seal.

Six months later, I check them by smell: sweet as honey means they will last indefinitely. Musty and rank means they were too wet, and they are trash.