PDA

View Full Version : Do you use a chemical or an oil as a rust inhibitor on your blades?

jc1234
12-12-2010, 01:38 PM
I have a wonderful knife that I take on every hike and camping trip. I would live and die by this knife, it is part of me, as far as knives go, it is my soul mate. Its made of cpm-s30v, and debating of steel properties in general aside, it has ok rust resistance, but I spend A LOT of time in water and snow and the knife gets wet, sappy, and otherwise icky pretty regularly. The knife spends its time in a kydex sheath while hiking / camping and I do try to wipe it down regularly when out, but sometimes it has to wait until i get home to get a real good wipe down and cleaning

The bladesmith recommended that I use pb blaster which I have been using for about 9 months and its worked phenomenally well, but there have been a few times when I really would have liked to have used the knife to cut food (like cuting apart raw ribs, or a cooked steak) or cut into a package of something when Ive realized that I forgot my eating utensils or when my multitool just wouldnt cut it (no pun intended), but the fact that Id used a chemical rust inhibitor made that dangerous due to the risk of ingestion.

This got me thinking whether pb blaster, or any chemical rust inhibitor is that much better than mineral oil. If minieral oil would work just as well, its safer and definitely cheaper. However pb blaster seems to work so well, Im afraid to switch. This knife is too expensive to ever buy again and takes to long to make and with the sheer amount of steel and number of thermo quenching cycles, its pretty much indestructible, except for rust.

What is your opinion?

LowKey
12-12-2010, 01:41 PM
I just use a light machine oil. 3-in-1 or a sewing machine type oil.
Not just on knives but also when cleaning up the garden tools for winter storage.
Machine oil on the metal, Linseed oil on the wooden handles.

jc1234
12-12-2010, 01:46 PM