PDA

View Full Version : Just when you think you know how to read the trail, it gives out.

jc1234
09-11-2010, 10:34 PM
Just wanted to remind all of my fellow hikers that there is no such thing as paranoid when it comes to safety and planning. People make fun of me (especially my wife) about my over-preparedness. I dont carry a ton of equipment, but what I do carry is over engineered and looks the part.

I hike primarily waterfall trails and the waterfalls themselves. Trail hikes go faster, and waterfall hikes and their surrounding stream bed hikes go slow and are quite technical and slow. My dog and I work as a team, he helps me and help him mentally with navigating in areas a dog would normally not have an interest in going. The dog weights about 15% less than I do, so we tend to balance each other out.

At any rate my newest addition is a leash made of static rescue dry rope with carabiners on either end secured by double figure 8 knots on either end with a few stopper knots in between.

Anyway, Ive hiked this trail probably over 100 times, I know it well. Several people have been severely injured this year falling over falls, two have been airlifted out once they were carried several miles to a road. The trail has been very loose this year due to the high heat and low rainfall. I was hiking a few days ago and and even though I was watching my footing, even though I consciously knew that the trail was dry, I was complacent and stepped to far to the side. The trail gave way to a 30' 70 degree downward slope to a rocky dry waterfall bed, had I fallen I would not have suffered tremendous injury, but it would have definitely ruined my day at the very least.