PDA

View Full Version : An interesting pack dilemma

10mm_Bob
09-10-2010, 02:53 PM
As a professional photographer, I have always had a challenge when it comes to field gear. First off, my packs catch hell. I regularly use them as camera supports for low profile shooting, get them wet, crawl through mud and brush with them, etc.. Packs that are specialized for camera gear tend to miss the mark in several areas. They are usually not that well made, and are geared solely toward protecting camera gear, and not being particularly comfortable to carry. There is also no area set up for any "non-camera" gear. They are certainly not will suited for the tough environments I put them through.

The other challenge I face is weight. My camera gear alone is usually around 30 pounds. I have managed to keep my minimalist survival gear down to around 10-11 pounds, but that still puts me at 40+ every time I go out.

I have recently switched to a Maxpedition Condor II pack, and have been satisfied with that so far. I can quite comfortably put about 20 pounds worth of gear in that, and then just carry the camera (with supertelephoto mounted) on the tripod over my shoulder. This pack seems VERY tough, and has handled everything I've thrown at it quite well. I also like that lifetime warranty, as I'm tired of buying Lowe Pro packs and ruining them each year.

I'm still struggling with getting the loads right in the pack, but that's just a matter of trial and error I think. It's WAY more comfortable than the camera packs were! At least now I can carry some minimal survival gear with me in a somewhat convenient manner.

Anyway, any suggestions or ideas on combining camera gear/survival gear are welcome!

Alaskan Survivalist
09-10-2010, 03:04 PM