PDA

View Full Version : Climbing Gear Kit

Alaskan Survivalist
08-28-2010, 03:50 PM
Climbing Gear Kit

This is an area of interest for me but I am a complete novice and post this to start a conversation and pick your brains and learn from more experienced climbers. I started climbing while gold prospecting as a way to reach high banks of canyon walls. Later as crevasse rescue on glaciers. I’ve never had an interest in climbing tall mountain peaks or testing myself against the mountain. For some survivalists the wilderness is something to be rescued from or endured for a limited time but for me it is my refuge and civilization that needs to be escaped. From this perspective being able to over come obstacles using climbing gear will leave less prepared far behind. It makes more sense to me than arming myself to defend against marauding hoards. I use it to rappel steep banks down to water and back out. Sarge raised a legitimate concern on another thread about elderly and less able members of a group and climbing gear will aide their movement on grades that may not be challenging but very difficult for them. I use it to climb trees, haul equipment up steep grades and just this week end to climb on my roof to install a chimney. I hope you will see the value of this topic.

My ice climbing and snow gear is rather bulky and not included as it is rather bulky, and not always used together so I have this kit separate. Minus rope it all fits in this 6x6 MOLLE pouch.

http://i540.photobucket.com/albums/gg346/akmofo/IMG_1296.jpg