PDA

View Full Version : Can I get the truth about elderberries please???

esp
08-11-2010, 10:58 AM
I have read and heard both that elderberry stems WITH thorns are not the ones to use, that they are posion, I have also read that the ones with thorns ARE ok?

Does anyone at all have the truth about this?

crashdive123
08-11-2010, 12:32 PM
Here is some information from the guy that taught the recent class I took. http://www.eattheweeds.com/www.EatTheWeeds.Com/EatTheWeeds.com/Entries/1945/12/14_Elderberries:_Red,_White_and_Blue.html

Rick
08-11-2010, 12:35 PM
I have no practical experience with Elderberries. My Peterson Guide shows Common Elderberry, Sambucus canadensis, as an edible variety. It does caution that only the flowers and ripe fruit are edible. Roots, leaves, stems and unripe berries will cause nausea, vomiting and diarrhea.

rwc1969
08-11-2010, 01:47 PM
I've never found elderberries with thorns. But, that link Crash posted has some great info regarding elderberries.

Here's a video I did that shows the common elderberry found here in Michigan which has dark purple berries. If you don't want to watch the whole thing, the elderberry parts are at roughly 4:40 and 6:10 into the video. I eat a few fully ripe berries raw when I'm out and about and have never found any that don't taste great.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eEYmn50D-Tc

gryffynklm
08-11-2010, 02:56 PM
Thanks for the link Crash.
RCW Thanks

klickitat
08-11-2010, 04:08 PM
The elderberries we have in the west are edible and poisonous. We pick, eat and put away juice from the elderberry.

The berry is at it's sweetest after the first frost of the season. The flesh of the berry is good to eat, but the seeds contain arsenic. The flesh contain trace amounts but nothing that will harm you in moderate amounts. In fact small amounts of arsenic was considered beneficial to health in times past and there are some herbalist who still use it.