PDA

View Full Version : Two Accidents, 20 Miles Apart

Ken
05-27-2010, 12:08 PM
I've been commuting to the Boston area, on and off, for over 30 years, and for the last few weeks, work has brought me to a town about 15 miles north of Boston everyday. [This is the same area I'd have to travel through to get to New Hampshire or Maine, where I have a couple of pre-arranged bugout locations (vacation homes of relatives/close friends)].

My experience over the last few weeks has reinforced my thoughts about the virtual impossibility of bugging out any great distance in any type of looming widespread disaster. As I sat behind the wheel, I kept thinking about the images of endless traffic jams before Hurricane Katrina struck.

25 years ago, traffic backups in this area were terrible. Today, even with the Big Dig completed, things are twice as bad ON A GOOD DAY.

Just yesterday, two accidents, over 20 miles apart, brought all traffic heading North to a virtual standstill. The voice of the guy in the traffic helicopter said it all: "It's a mess everywhere." And I'm wondering just what percentage of registered vehicles in the eastern part of the state are actually on these roads. Was it 2%? Maybe 5% at most?

There are 3 highways that run South to North, and 2 accidents jammed them all up for hours yesterday.

Rt. 495-N was stopped in for over 25 miles due to a tractor trailer rollover. Rt. 1-N through Boston (which is also Rt. 93-N AND Rt. 3-N) was stopped for it's entire length due to an accident in the tunnel. Rt. 95-N (which is also Rt 128-N AND Rt. 93-S) was stopped for 30 miles, due to the jam at the 495 off ramps and the traffic that headed that way to avoid the Boston back-up. And to make things even more fun, Rt. 24, which was part of my commute, was stopped for 10 miles before the Rt. 128-93 split.

http://www.emochila.com/sb/pics/cdaly/702/daly-map.jpg