PDA

View Full Version : search and rescue dogs

corndog-44
11-30-2007, 08:14 AM
Which breed of dog do you think is best for search and rescue?

Rick
11-30-2007, 09:42 AM
I'm tempted to say the one that finds me, but I won't.

According to NASAR, "SAR dogs are usually the larger working and sporting breeds of dogs. German Shepherds, Dobermans, Rottweilers, Golden Retrievers, Giant Schnauzers, and Labradors are among the breeds found on SAR unit rosters."

http://www.nasar.org/nasar/sar_dog_fact_sheet.php

You have just witnessed my thimble full of knowledge on the subject....

Stealth
11-30-2007, 11:07 AM
ive only "worked" (im a licensed vet tech and ive participated in a few training sessions) with german shepherds for SAR and they do an amazing job IMO, golden retrievers would be my second option followed by dobermans

LadyTrapper
11-30-2007, 03:21 PM
German shepards most definitely come to mind. I have a Rottie so am partial to them.
We have a breed of dog here called the Newfoundland Dog. They are equal in size and and fur length to the St Bernard. They were originally bred for water rescues and to accompany fisherman on their lobster boats here to retrieve anyone who went overboard in the cold Atlantic Ocean, bring them a lifesaver and ride/tow back to the boat. Beautiful powerful dogs most all black...look just like a bear. LOL
Here is a link to a great story about one of these rescue dogs. Kinda sad ending but a good read just the same.
http://www.stemnet.nf.ca/CITE/newfoundland_gander_hero.htm

Nativedude
11-30-2007, 11:37 PM
I have a 2 y.o. Akita. He is great for S.A.R. He's got a nose like a bloodhound, and he can track game too!

Shepherds and retrievers are great S.A.R. breeds too!

Beo
12-01-2007, 12:04 AM
I'm a big fan of yellow labs.

morey22
12-01-2007, 07:13 AM
Hello Folks,

I am a newbie!!! and look forward to being a member of this forum.