PDA

View Full Version : In the event of Societal Upheaval (i.e., "Stuff" HTF) - the Feral Pet Problem

preachtheWORD
02-05-2010, 11:08 AM
Perhaps this is not "thread worthy" but it did get me thinking.

In the event of some kind of societal upheaval - economic collapse, extreme natural disaster, pandemic disease, pervading world war, and as a Pastor I think of the Rapture of the Church (not trying to start a relgious discussion, this is just an example) - it seems to me that there will be a massive number of feral house pets that are either orphaned or abandoned. Feral cats are already having a very serious environmental impact right now, but in one of the situations I listed above, there may be billions of feral animals roaming the world.

Can you imagine the packs of feral dogs terrorizing the popultation or colonies of feral cats wiping out the small game? Alos, if the "stuff" really hits the fan, I imagine it won't take long until Fido and Whiskers start looking like good sources of protein for the survivors.

SO, I realize that this is a fairly goofy topic, but for those who are preparing for the worst case scenario, it would be unwise to leave the impact of feral house pets out of the equation.

Anybody else ever considered this?

Rick
02-05-2010, 11:14 AM
Not me. My wife's dog, Pot Roast, will be taken care of.

Sourdough
02-05-2010, 11:30 AM
Meats MEAT.......cat meat is goooder than no-meat. We don't have any feral cats around here, the Eagles eat them. They eat the small dogs also.

Rick
02-05-2010, 11:32 AM
I do think your theory is valid. It seems to be a rather predominant theme in the "Life After People" shows. As dogs begin to pack together I think they'll offer a threat to people as well. We'll sort of be on each other's menu.

LowKey
02-05-2010, 11:36 AM