PDA

View Full Version : Fire arms drills

Pal334
01-27-2010, 12:23 PM
I used that title for lack of anything better. I was just reading an article about how some Marines are training for duty in Afghanistan.

http://www.defense.gov/news/newsarticle.aspx?id=57735

"There's going to be a lot of pivoting and shooting, facing away from the target and turning around very quickly; usually engaging the target with two shots at a time," said Marine Corps Cpl. Sandro Ola, a field radio operator. "It's very quick and to the point."

I am not a big proponent of the world government, collapse of society, anarchy theories etc. I , as well as many of the vets / LEO on this forum have probably had some variation this type of training.

My question: Do you think an "average" shooter (whatever your definition of "average" is) would be prudent to include in their firearms training the type of drill described above?

glockcop
01-27-2010, 12:46 PM
Pal, in a word, Yes. Everyone that carries a weapon should train for it's instantaneous deployment and use. Crisis rarely accompanies convienience. You and I both know the bad guy is counting on you not being ready for the surprise attack. One should be proficient with their weapon in as many situations as possible. The "average shooter" will never become an "exceptional shooter" if first the basic training fundamentals are not learned and then secondly the more refined skills attained. IMO, you are not "armed" if you are not trained no matter what you are carrying. Always practice to be better than you are today and constantly hone the skills you have acquired. There is no such thing as "good enough" or being "too good". Take care, Brother.

BENESSE
01-27-2010, 01:26 PM
Glockop is spot on!
I certainly intend to be the best I can be under the circumstances. (wish they were more convenient)
Can't imagine survival preparedness that doesn't include comprehensive firearms training.

Pal334
01-27-2010, 01:38 PM
Glockop is spot on!