PDA

View Full Version : New from Bosnia [Europe]

Hamza
11-17-2007, 10:15 PM
Greetings,

I've just joined the forum, i've been coming to the website for about a week and i have benefited so much from all the information on the site, and now i finally decided to join the wilderness community. My name is Hamza and i was fascinated with the wilderness ever since i was a child in Bosnia - i alwas loved the mountains, forests, rivers etc. but never really got exposed to it until about a couple years ago when i went camping the first time, i'm new to this and honestly i don't know where to start, what do i do at this point? i want to pratcite my survival skills, but i alson don't want to kill myself hehe! how do i start, do i go into the woods by myself for a night at first or with some friedns, what do it do to get the i guess you can call it, full experience ... ? i don't know where to start, but i know what i want to do, i want to be in the wild as much as i can!!

thank you all ...

survivalhike
11-17-2007, 11:29 PM
If you don't have too much experience yet I would find some local camping areas that are more maintained and start there first. These are typically closer to town and that makes it easier should the s**t hit the fan. And you can increase the primitiveness (is that a word) as you see fit. Start small. You don't have to ski a black diamond to know it's hard. You can figure that out from the bunny hill...especially if you can't ski that.

When I was starting out camping I would bring everything under the sun, just in case I needed something. Over the years I learned to take less stuff, and some things got replaced with others. Make sure you have something to do while out there, and don't make it things that you do at home. Try fishing, hiking, navigating, hunting, or anything that keeps you outside. Tent camp at first, and go with your friends.