PDA

View Full Version : Dugout Canoe

jagjj
01-17-2010, 10:54 PM
i couldn't find any information on the detailed making of dugout canoes. Does anyone have any experience making them? and if so i have a few questions. what tree to use?
how thin should it be?
can you have a fire inside of it while on the water without it burning through? what do you use to seal the seams?
do you need to use modern materials or can you find primitive materials for it in NW Indiana?
How long can i make it last?

just F.Y.I. i'm asking for the purpose of making one myself so please try to be specific

canid
01-18-2010, 02:46 AM
a dugout is a large project. since i have no experience, i thought i'd direct you to some people who do:

here are some links which might help:

http://vstr1.nebula.fi/?id=1785532-1252070219&w=640&h=476&fs=1&c=1&r=640&a=1&p=1

http://www.primitiveways.com/dugout-canoe.html

http://www.motherearthnews.com/Do-It-Yourself/1984-01-01/Make-A-Canoe.aspx

http://paleoplanet69529.yuku.com/reply/228396#reply-228396

http://www.pathwayscrg.org/Project_Portfolio/Pages/Early_19th_c._Dugout_Canoe.html

http://www.pathwayscrg.org/Project_Portfolio/Pages/A_Stone_Tool_Dugout.html

gryffynklm
01-18-2010, 11:53 AM
Its a big project indeed. Out of curiosity, why a dugout.

NightShade
01-18-2010, 12:19 PM
He may be young... But he's a survival expert AND knows more than most.....:innocent:

gryffynklm
01-18-2010, 12:39 PM
Sure he does. I have helped work on a dugout for an hour at a rendezvous. Basically enough to help keep the burn going Its a great project. The cost is surprising and the labor involved is as big as the log you have to locate.