PDA

View Full Version : Quinzee!

rwc1969
01-13-2010, 12:46 AM
4 days ago I built one. Here it is! http://s101.photobucket.com/albums/m50/shroomer69/Bushcraft%20in%20Michigan/?action=view&current=100_1866.flv

I'm no expert, but I suggest you consult one if you plan to use a quinzee, or snow shelter as it's called in english, in an emergency situation or otherwise. Then, construct one and see how it goes so you're not left surprised and unprepared when you need it most. After building this and seeing it degrade over the past 4 days there are changes I would make. I discuss a few below and in the vids.

These ARE NOT instructional videos and I'm not trying to show off. Constructive critisism is welcome. These are just my observations of the process. It's pretty basic stuff and if you want to know the process just google "quinzee" and you can watch people shovel snow all day long.

There are three parts to the video and also some pictures. It is raw/ unedited/ unscripted/ uncut footage. I had problems with the camera to start, but got it worked out after changing the batteries 3 times and letting the camera adjust to the cold a bit.

SAFETY FIRST! A few important tips. I've watched a few vids, read books and blogs about construction and here are a couple points that some left out. Some of these aren't my ideas and I give credit below.

1. You shouldn't do this alone because it can cave in and entomb you causing suffocation. The snow is heavy, some say one or two tons. I did an estimate based on square feet, cubic feet and the average weights of snow as calculated by the National Weather Service. My snow shelter most likely weighs between 4 and 6 tons. 8,000-12,000+ pounds, which leads us too...

2. If you build this on ice make sure the ice can support the weight.:smash: